The Bishop William L. Higi Leadership Award is the school’s highest recognition presented annually at Guerin Catholic’s Annual Award Ceremony. This year’s award recipients will be honored at the annual Guerin Catholic Gala event on May 1, 2021.


Bill and Caroline Godfrey Community Award

Mark Duray Community Award

Leona Chianello Faculty/Staff Award

Joe Garcia ’07 Alumni Award

About the Award

The Bishop William L. Higi Leadership Award is presented annually to individuals who have exemplified their Catholic faith by taking risks and being a catalyst for transformational change in their community.

Many awardees, in concert with Guerin Catholic’s founding Bishop, Bishop William L. Higi, had a vision of providing a Catholic high school education to those in the deanery and Diocese of Lafayette-in-Indiana. In the face of ruthless opposition and constant setbacks, these leaders put their faith ahead of their fears and for the first time in sixty years, helped open a new Catholic high school in Indiana.

As of today, more than 16 years after Guerin Catholic opened her doors, the school has been recognized consistently as one of the top Catholic high schools in the nation.

Questions about the awards program should be directed to Lori Norris, Vice President of Institutional Advancement at 317.582.0120 ext. 216 or

Previous Award Recipients

Bishop Emeritus William L. Higi
(Founding Bishop of Guerin Catholic High School)

Monsignor John Duncan
Mr. Chris Braun
Mr. Gary Malone
Mr. Scott Schutz

Barbara (Barb) and John Gallina
Deborah and William (Willie) Wood

Fr. Dale Ehrman Community Award
Mike and Grace Pratt Community Award
Mrs. Marcia Murphy Faculty/Staff Award
Sam Gardner ’08 Alumni Award